Banksy and Adbusting

“People are taking the piss out of you everyday. They butt into your life, take a cheap shot at you and then disappear. They leer at you from tall buildings and make you feel small. They make flippant comments from buses that imply you’re not sexy enough and that all the fun is happening somewhere else. They are on TV making your girlfriend feel inadequate. They have access to the most sophisticated technology the world has ever seen and they bully you with it. They are The Advertisers and they are laughing at you.” –Banksy

That Banksy. He gets it, you know? You know what I’m doing today at work? Trying to convince you(r girlfriend) that {you are, she is} overweight so {you, she} join(s) a “fat-loss challenge.” ($50k in prizes! #getfit)  Jesus. If I had a trust fund or a patron, I could be pulling a Harper Lee, but instead I’m slinging swill, creating, nay, propagating the propaganda problem.

Banksy, cleaning up (advertising) society, one graffito at a time.

Jesus. It’s utterly demoralizing for me to write it and for you(r girlfriend) to read it; to see my well-crafted lines of overt deceit and subtle malice. I’m itching to get out, to do something different. I’d rather work in a uranium plant or sift through cow feces for a living; both would be less toxic at perpetuating the myth of inadequacy.

Saul, Stan, Stacy, Maria, Mahmud, LaToya, Jamal, Marissa, Elbert, (etc,) whoever you are, whatever your name, whatever your weight–I don’t think you’re fat. You might have fat, but we all have fat! We’re supposed to! It keeps us insulated and from blowing away in the wind. I think you’re you; I think you’re great! You are exactly who you’re supposed to be. I want to shower you with affection, adoration, and acceptance, but instead I’m paid to find and exploit your flaws. I beg your forgiveness, I beg your pardon.

I wish to join with you in fighting back against this Corporate/Advertising demigod of greed and corruption. How do we do it?! I need your input. I will work with you, I will write for you–perhaps here from the inside, a subversive, a comrade at arms. Or, perhaps, together we will be strong enough to create resources on our own to break free, to start our own community of collaboration, of perception-altering equality for every person’s humanity, regardless of size or color or creed or gender(lessness) or intellect or ignorance.

Is this a thing? Could it be?

“You owe the companies nothing. Less than nothing, you especially don’t owe them any courtesy. They owe you. They have re-arranged the world to put themselves in front of you. They never asked for your permission, don’t even start asking for theirs.” — Banksy

Let’s get ’em. Pat ’em down. Take ’em for a ride the shan’t forget.

Leave a Reply

